Parenting

Working Moms

I have always had the privilege of being a stay at home mother. With my two oldest ones I has able to stay home with them until they were about 2-3 years old before going back to work and I am a firm believer that they cherish that time just as much as I do. My youngest at the moment is one and I have been home with her the entire time but our newest addition arrives in July. With four little ones, a two income household becomes a necessity rather than a luxury and I will have to go back to work a few months after our baby arrives. With never having any of my little ones with a sitter or in daycare that young I was feeling uncertain, nervous and a little afraid at the prospect. The internet is pretty divided on the topic, with some mothers singing praises about their children’s experiences while others are standing strong against it. With the range of reviews being so wide I realized that is so much more than just whether or not infants should be in daycare. The negative reviews area lot of times formed by women who have the option of keeping their children home, as it is easy to be against something when you have other routes available to you. In the same way the positive reviews are not positive based on children attending daycare but instead are specific to the daycare or teacher the child has been with. Once I realized this we decided that instead of worrying about having to place the little ones into a center, we needed to spend our time researching and visiting prospective centers to make the most informed decision we can when the time comes.

kindergarten-playground-swing-sand-pit-159790.jpeg

Leave a comment